Sztaki Desktop Grid

Post Reply
User avatar
Buga1
Calm Chaos Model Rocket Scientist
Posts: 2178
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:13 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

SZTAKI Desktop Grid Project

Post by Buga1 » Tue Oct 10, 2006 2:10 pm

Anything related to SZTAKI Desktop Grid.

SZTAKI Desktop Grid Homepage

Description:
SZTAKI Desktop Gridcurrently searches for generalized binary number systems. The aim of the project is to find all the generalized binary number systems up to dimension 11.

Team attach: Calm Chaos
SZTAKI Desktop Grid - BoincStats

Project = Active | WU Availability = Constant | WU Time = Long
Image

Rick

User avatar
Dances with Werewolves
Chaotic Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:00 am
Location: Southwest USA
Contact:

Sztaki Desktop Grid

Post by Dances with Werewolves » Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:30 pm

I've got a wu that is at 131:51 and no end to it in site, this is apparently a normal occurance as far as the size of the units go. Be aware if you don't have a stable system the longer it crunches the more likely instability may cause errors in the work. Also, it seems to help update the %done progress counter to completely stop, unload and restart boinc. I did this for another reason and noticed it jump from 40% to 60% on the restart.
Restarting the machine accomplishes the same thing if you are running as a service.
[url=http://allprojectstats.com/showteam.php?id=125048][img]http://allprojectstats.com/ts125048a0a.png[/img][/url][url=http://allprojectstats.com/showuser.php?id=122105][img]http://allprojectstats.com/s122105a0a.png[/img][/url][url=http://www.unitedboinc.com][img]http://www.unitedboinc.com/news-sig/Black-1-14noqs-4g4s8w.png[/img][/url]

User avatar
TimeLord04
Chaotic Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:18 am
Location: The TARDIS.
Contact:

Re: Sztaki Desktop Grid

Post by TimeLord04 » Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:31 pm

DanceswithWerewolves(DWW) wrote:I've got a wu that is at 131:51 and no end to it in site, this is apparently a normal occurance as far as the size of the units go. Be aware if you don't have a stable system the longer it crunches the more likely instability may cause errors in the work. Also, it seems to help update the %done progress counter to completely stop, unload and restart boinc. I did this for another reason and noticed it jump from 40% to 60% on the restart.
Restarting the machine accomplishes the same thing if you are running as a service.
SETI gave me similar instability issues on my old AMD K-6,2 350's... They would constantly download 26 Hour WU's and at 15 Hrs the computers would error out... (BOINC 5.4.9 and 5.15 WU's...) So, I gave up on the K-6,2's and shut them down. I have to wait until I get some available free standing cash that I can upgrade my entire Network with. (Well, 4 out of the 5 Computers; anyway. The three K-6,2's and the P3-600 must go - when I have the cash...)
TimeLord04
Have TARDIS, will travel...

Come along K-9!
Join Calm Chaos

User avatar
Dances with Werewolves
Chaotic Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:00 am
Location: Southwest USA
Contact:

Re: Sztaki Desktop Grid

Post by Dances with Werewolves » Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:31 pm

TimeLord04 wrote:
DanceswithWerewolves(DWW) wrote:I've got a wu that is at 131:51 and no end to it in site, this is apparently a normal occurance as far as the size of the units go. Be aware if you don't have a stable system the longer it crunches the more likely instability may cause errors in the work. Also, it seems to help update the %done progress counter to completely stop, unload and restart boinc. I did this for another reason and noticed it jump from 40% to 60% on the restart.
Restarting the machine accomplishes the same thing if you are running as a service.
SETI gave me similar instability issues on my old AMD K-6,2 350's... They would constantly download 26 Hour WU's and at 15 Hrs the computers would error out... (BOINC 5.4.9 and 5.15 WU's...) So, I gave up on the K-6,2's and shut them down. I have to wait until I get some available free standing cash that I can upgrade my entire Network with. (Well, 4 out of the 5 Computers; anyway. The three K-6,2's and the P3-600 must go - when I have the cash...)
I've been lucky thus far in the area of stability, my p4s have no bandwith compared to the wide FBS's of the Core2 Duo's that are out there now but even with the generic ram that I have I am not getting bit errors it is just slow. I get maybe one or two bad validations a month and I can live with that since I won't be upgrading these particular machines. I would really like one of the Xeon's with the 1333 buss but sadly still more than $700 US just for the CPU so I wait both for the price to come down and for one of the MB manufactures to make a desktop MB for this application. I wouldn't mind being able to do 200 plus wu's a day.


Just an update to this wu, it is at 160.09 hours and 80% done. Looks like it may be a good one but will I ever get credit this is the question? Others will udoubtedly dump it since it is sooooooo loooooooong.
[url=http://allprojectstats.com/showteam.php?id=125048][img]http://allprojectstats.com/ts125048a0a.png[/img][/url][url=http://allprojectstats.com/showuser.php?id=122105][img]http://allprojectstats.com/s122105a0a.png[/img][/url][url=http://www.unitedboinc.com][img]http://www.unitedboinc.com/news-sig/Black-1-14noqs-4g4s8w.png[/img][/url]

User avatar
yeababy
Chaotic Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 am
Location: sweden

Post by yeababy » Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:32 pm

umm this is probably a real homer of a ? since ive been crunching for a few years now lol but how do you tell how long a work unit is, ive never had a prob with any work units

User avatar
TimeLord04
Chaotic Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:18 am
Location: The TARDIS.
Contact:

Post by TimeLord04 » Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:33 pm

Hi, Yea Baby,

I am copying one of my SETI WU's here:

SETI@home setiathome_enhanced 5.15 13my03aa.5389.15346.773556.3.105_1 --- 0.000% 03:25:21

The blue bit above is the Total Estimated Time to Complete the WU in Hours, Minutes, and Seconds.

The yellow bit above is the actual time that your CPU has crunched on that WU... At present, the WU above has not yet started; hence the dashes.

The green bit is the percentage of the WU completed by the CPU. I hope that all of this helps...

:D
TimeLord04
Have TARDIS, will travel...

Come along K-9!
Join Calm Chaos

User avatar
yeababy
Chaotic Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 am
Location: sweden

Post by yeababy » Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:33 pm

ok so its the estimated work time got it, cheers


hey is anybody else having problems uploading data to seti at moment, thinking its a server issue or something I cant get into their website either at moment

24/10/2006 20:40:38|SETI@home|Deferring scheduler requests for 1 minutes and 0 seconds
24/10/2006 20:41:06|SETI@home|Started upload of file 17my03aa.13679.16208.790908.3.196_0_0
24/10/2006 20:41:28|SETI@home|Temporarily failed upload of 17my03aa.13679.16208.790908.3.196_0_0: http error
24/10/2006 20:41:28|SETI@home|Backing off 1 minutes and 0 seconds on upload of file 17my03aa.13679.16208.790908.3.196_0_0
24/10/2006 20:41:38|SETI@home|Sending scheduler request to http://setiboinc.ssl.berkeley.edu/sah_cgi/cgi
24/10/2006 20:41:38|SETI@home|Reason: To report completed tasks
24/10/2006 20:41:38|SETI@home|Reporting 1 tasks
24/10/2006 20:42:04|SETI@home|Scheduler request failed: server returned nothing (no headers, no data)
24/10/2006 20:42:04|SETI@home|Deferring scheduler requests for 1 minutes and 0 seconds

User avatar
Labbie
Calm Chaos Speedologist
Posts: 4856
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:58 am
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Post by Labbie » Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:34 pm

yeababy wrote:ok so its the estimated work time got it, cheers


hey is anybody else having problems uploading data to seti at moment, thinking its a server issue or something I cant get into their website either at moment

24/10/2006 20:40:38|SETI@home|Deferring scheduler requests for 1 minutes and 0 seconds
24/10/2006 20:41:06|SETI@home|Started upload of file 17my03aa.13679.16208.790908.3.196_0_0
24/10/2006 20:41:28|SETI@home|Temporarily failed upload of 17my03aa.13679.16208.790908.3.196_0_0: http error
24/10/2006 20:41:28|SETI@home|Backing off 1 minutes and 0 seconds on upload of file 17my03aa.13679.16208.790908.3.196_0_0
24/10/2006 20:41:38|SETI@home|Sending scheduler request to http://setiboinc.ssl.berkeley.edu/sah_cgi/cgi
24/10/2006 20:41:38|SETI@home|Reason: To report completed tasks
24/10/2006 20:41:38|SETI@home|Reporting 1 tasks
24/10/2006 20:42:04|SETI@home|Scheduler request failed: server returned nothing (no headers, no data)
24/10/2006 20:42:04|SETI@home|Deferring scheduler requests for 1 minutes and 0 seconds
It's just the standard weekly downtime. It should fix itself in an hour or two.
Never argue with idiots. They drag you down to their level, and then beat you with experience.

If You're Not Outraged, You're Not Paying Attention

Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

User avatar
yeababy
Chaotic Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:24 am
Location: sweden

Post by yeababy » Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:34 pm

cheers labbie sort of figured that but just wanted to make sure

User avatar
Dances with Werewolves
Chaotic Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:00 am
Location: Southwest USA
Contact:

Post by Dances with Werewolves » Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:34 pm

Well after 267+ hours on the w/u it errored out with the following message.

11/4/2006 10:27:28 AM|SZTAKI Desktop Grid|State file error: result 1a9d6387-6dd8-4e3d-a31c-ae75a2daaf6d_ad27d6f4-ba09-4e94-a14a-5a00bf8bf352_2980_1 is in wrong state

So I've dropped this project until I have mr zippy computer. lol
[url=http://allprojectstats.com/showteam.php?id=125048][img]http://allprojectstats.com/ts125048a0a.png[/img][/url][url=http://allprojectstats.com/showuser.php?id=122105][img]http://allprojectstats.com/s122105a0a.png[/img][/url][url=http://www.unitedboinc.com][img]http://www.unitedboinc.com/news-sig/Black-1-14noqs-4g4s8w.png[/img][/url]

User avatar
Knightmare
Keeper of the Calm
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:27 am
Contact:

Post by Knightmare » Sun Nov 05, 2006 12:13 am

I don't blame you DWW. I had to drop Sztaki from my laptop....never had a wu error out...but they take FOREVER!!

I am thinking about running Seti@home....Seti@home Beta...and CPDN on the pc...

I can use the optimized app on Seti@home...so it won't hurt my RAC any...I figure it will still go WAY up because the pc is so much faster than the laptop.

I really want to run Climate Prediction, but the wu's were just WAY to huge for the laptop. I saw one once that said it would take 1300 hours for my laptop to run...lol
Looking for the Calm amid all this Chaos[/b]
Image
Air Cold, the blade stops;
from silent stone,
Death is preordained

Image

User avatar
Bird-Dog
Chaotic Member
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 3:13 am
Location: North East England UK

Post by Bird-Dog » Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:40 am

The Climate prediction models report ever model year and there are 160 years in each model. It took me 49hrs to do one year so a complete model would have taken me just under 8000hrs. Unless you have a fast computer think again. Have a read of there message boards and see if you can find a computer with the same spec as yours to give you an idea. Mine errored out after 90 odd hours, in a way I`m glad, with 1 computer I would have had to drop all projects to finish it.

User avatar
Knightmare
Keeper of the Calm
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:27 am
Contact:

Post by Knightmare » Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:01 pm

Ok....so cancel the CPDN idea...lmao

My pc is fast...but not THAT fast.
Looking for the Calm amid all this Chaos[/b]
Image
Air Cold, the blade stops;
from silent stone,
Death is preordained

Image

User avatar
Enigma
Keeper of the Calm
Posts: 827
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 2:27 am
Location: OZ!

Post by Enigma » Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:08 am

Bird-Dog wrote:The Climate prediction models report ever model year and there are 160 years in each model. It took me 49hrs to do one year so a complete model would have taken me just under 8000hrs. Unless you have a fast computer think again. Have a read of there message boards and see if you can find a computer with the same spec as yours to give you an idea. Mine errored out after 90 odd hours, in a way I`m glad, with 1 computer I would have had to drop all projects to finish it.
Yeah, i have a machine crunching this and at 70 hours, it has managed 2%. So this is a 6 month job at 24*7 +- however reports are made incrementally, so you will get credit and progress every few days (which is promising) however yes, you need a stable machine (in the sense that it will be online for at least 6 months++) to finish an entire work unit.

Still i think its worthwhile.....
Belief gets in the way of learning.

[img]http://i149.photobucket.com/albums/s62/enigmachaos/calmbnecromonger.png[/img]

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Post by Gavin Shaw » Sun Aug 31, 2008 12:56 am

31st Aug 2008 AEST:

SZTAKI appears to be having problems with Internet connections today. No news about this so it may be a minor glitch.
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Post by Gavin Shaw » Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:03 am

01 Sep 2008 AEST:

According to our team stats page the SZTAKI server is down. The website is reachable, however a check on the server status page indicates that everything but webpages are offline/stopped. There is also only 1 unit that is ready to send, but 50 - 60K in progress.

So for the moment this project appears to be out of work.
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Post by Gavin Shaw » Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:35 am

02 Sep 2008 AEST:

News update:

Sep 01. 2008
Work units of the 13th dimension get delayed with two days.
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Post by Gavin Shaw » Wed Sep 03, 2008 11:41 pm

04 Sep 2008 AEST:

Well the server stat page is green. There are 8 units ready to send and about 45K in progress. New work maybe coming out or just about to. Nothing in the forums to indicate whether work is out or coming out.
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Knightmare
Keeper of the Calm
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:27 am
Contact:

Post by Knightmare » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:24 am

LOL. Gotta LOVE those really decisive projects...lmao
Looking for the Calm amid all this Chaos[/b]
Image
Air Cold, the blade stops;
from silent stone,
Death is preordained

Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Post by Gavin Shaw » Wed Sep 10, 2008 12:01 am

10 Sep 2008 AEST:

A quick check on the server status page for this project shows that there are just over 2,000 units ready to send. Looks like there is/was some recent work ready for crunching...
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Post by Gavin Shaw » Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:00 am

12 Sep 2008 AEST:

Sep 10. 2008
Work units of the 13th dimension has been harder to get in the past few days, due to the increased interest.
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Post by Gavin Shaw » Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:34 pm

08/10/2008 AEST:

A little late, but you were all told I would be on holiday :) :

Sep 28. 2008
The database has been successfully moved to the new location. We welcome this event with a new logo design, that features a 7-word sentence hidden in it. Feel free to contact us with the solution.
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Post by Gavin Shaw » Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:21 am

16 Nov 2008 AEST:

Nov 12. 2008
The descriptors of the workunits that are currently being processed have been lost during the maintenance. We kindly ask to abort any workunits that has been downloaded before the 12th of november. New workunits, with extended report deadline and shorter processing times will be available soon. We apoligize for any inconvinience caused. Users who are involved in the problem will be granted credit for their work.
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Re: SZTAKI Desktop Grid Project

Post by Gavin Shaw » Tue Jan 12, 2010 6:19 am

10 Jan 2010

The IBM East Europe / Asia Ltd. has expressed its appreciation to the Laboratory of Parallel and Distributed Systems for their significant contribution in the introducing of the HPC-Grid system in Kazakhstan which is built on the SZTAKI P-GRADE Grid Portal, the systems of Desktop Grid and on the IBM\'s High Performance Cluster.
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Re: SZTAKI Desktop Grid Project

Post by Gavin Shaw » Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:46 am

08 Feb 2010:

The site's downtime was caused by hardware issues during the weekend. We might have some more troubles in the next few days. We are sorry for the inconvenience!
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Re: SZTAKI Desktop Grid Project

Post by Gavin Shaw » Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:21 am

08 Mar 2010:

The site's downtime was caused by hardware issues again during this weekend. We are sorry for the inconvenience!
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Re: SZTAKI Desktop Grid Project

Post by Gavin Shaw » Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:59 am

18 Apr 2010:

We had some unexpected problem in the system yesterday. We are sorry for the downtime!
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

User avatar
Gavin Shaw
Chaotic Member
Posts: 2514
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Australia / Earth Orbit

Re: SZTAKI Desktop Grid Project

Post by Gavin Shaw » Mon Aug 02, 2010 11:47 pm

02 Aug 2010:

We had a power failure today morning, but for now everything is already back and working again!
This signature comment has been censored by the ACMA as being politically inconvenient.

No Australian Government Internet Filter

Image

Image Image

Post Reply

Return to “SZTAKI Desktop Grid”